Geoquest 2019

After the very successful Geo-week 2018 celebration, the Centre for Education & Research in Geosciences, Pune conducted the 2nd edition of the Earth science based Inter-School Quiz contest – GEOQUEST 2019 under its ‘Geoscience for All’ initiative.

“Geoscience for All’ is a volunteer initiative of professional Earth Scientists to promote Earth Literacy – translating information on Earth science into a language and learning that can be understood by the common man. The event was held for 2 days on 8th & 9th, February 2018 by CERG in association with AISSMS’s Shri Shivaji Preparatory Military School, Pune and conducted in their large and spacious Assembly Hall.

With 26 schools registering and finally 17 schools, each consisting of a team of three young, bright and enthusiastic students participated in the elimination rounds. Of these the top four made it to the semi finals and the next eight contested in the Quarterfinals of which four schools made it to the other semi finals round. The competition for the eight was so intense as evidenced from the a rounds of tie-breaker for the 12th position. The team from the Bharati Vidyapeeth’s Rabindranath Tagore School of Excellence, the youngest of the contesting teams broke through the keenly contested tie-breaker to eventually make it to the finals.

Of the top eight schools,  four schools – Army Public School – Pune, Vidya Valley School, Rabindranath Tagore School and Hutching’s High School vied for the top honours. In the keenly contested final, which saw two tie-breakers, Army Public School – Pune, emerged as winners followed by Hutching’s High School as 1st runners-up. Vidya Valley School were the 2nd runners up.

Ipsita Roy, Mugdha Chimote, Sakshi Maheswari were quizmasters for the qualifying rounds and Natraj Vaddadi officiated as Quiz master for the final round.

Dr C. Rajasekhar, eminent palaeontologist and Scientist formerly with the Agarkhar Research Institute, Prof (Dr) I. A. Khan, Geologist and former Professor & Head of Department of Geology at N. Wadia College, Prof (Dr) Ajit Vartak, Geologist and former Professor at N. Wadia College, Pune, and Dr. Sudha Vaddadi of CERG graced the prize distribution ceremony and gave away the awards to the winning teams.

The event received very good feedback from the participants, the teachers and the audience.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.